Activating and Deactivating Users | Online Help - Zoho CRM

Activating and Deactivating Users

Sometimes, a users' position may change or they may move to different business units. In such cases, you might have to deactivate those users after transferring ownership of the records to other users. Note that deactivating a user is different from deleting a user. When you deactivate a user:
  • The user will no longer be able to access the CRM account.
  • No one will be able to log into the service using the deactivated ID.
  • You are free to use the same user license to add another user. 
  • The user license is not canceled. the number of user licenses that you have purchased remains the same, and you will be billed accordingly unless you reduce your total user licenses.
  • The user will be listed under Inactive Users.

To deactivate a user

  1. Log in to Zoho CRM with Administrator profile or with the User Management permission enabled in your profile.
  2. Go to Setup > GeneralUsers.
  3. In the Users page, select the Active Users view.

  4. In the Active Users section select the checkbox corresponding to the users that you want to deactivate.
  5. Click Deactivate. Read the information in the popup and click I Understand. Deactivate now.
    The user will be deactivated and a system generated email will be sent to the corresponding user.
Notes
Note
  1. You need the Administrator profile or the User Management permission to activate or deactivate users.  
  2. You will not see the Deactivate button for your own account. Another user with this permission must deactivate it for you.  
  3. You will not see the Deactivate button for the current Super Admin, since this account is the org’s primary contact.
  4. To deactivate the Super Admin account, first the current Super Admin should transfer the privilege to another user with the Administrator profile. Then any other admin (not necessarily the new Super Admin) can deactivate the account.  
  5. If the Super Admin has left the company or you don’t have access to their account, contact Zoho Support to have the role reassigned.  

To change the org’s Super Admin

1. Log in to Zoho CRM as the current Super Admin.  
2. Go to Setup > General > Company Settings > Company Details, then click the edit icon.  
3. Select another user to become the new Super Admin. Only users with the default Administrator profile appear as options.  
4. Save your changes. 

To activate a user

  1. Log in to Zoho CRM with Administrator profile or with the User Management permission enabled in your profile.
  2. Go to Setup > GeneralUsers.
  3. In the Users page, select the Inactive Users view.
  4. In the Inactive Users section select the checkbox corresponding to the users that you want to activate.

  5. Click  Activate. In the popup that appears, click Activate now.
    The user will be activated and a system generated email will be sent to the corresponding user.

SEE ALSO