Delete and Transfer Users | Zoho CRM - Online Help

Deleting and Transferring Users

You may have to delete a user from the CRM account when they discontinue service in the organization or are transferred to a different team or project. Before deleting the user it is important that you transfer the records they own and the ones assigned to them based on specific configurations to other users. In Zoho CRM, while deleting the users you will be prompted to: 
  1. Delete without transferring the records: You can use this option if the records are co-owned by other users in the organization.
  2. Delete after transferring the following records:
    1. All the open records (in Deals and Activities modules) in the users ownership (Closed records that are in the deleted user's ownership will continue to display the users name).
    2. All the assignment related configurations that are made in the record such as workflows, owner assignment, field updates, any blueprint that the user has participated in.
    3. All the rule-based criteria that are associated with the user (only if the user is a record owner) such as custom views, workflows, approvals, case escalations, blueprint etc.   
Points to remember
  1. Only the super admin can delete a user.
  2. If the deleted user has integrated any additional applications with the CRM account, those integrations will be disabled.
  3. Deleting a user is not the same as closing their Zoho account. They are deleted only from Zoho CRM account and will therefore continue to be part of the total purchased user license. If you need to reduce user licenses, refer to subscriptions.
  4. The name of the deleted user will still be displayed in the user lookup and co-owner fields in a record. 
  5. If transfer now is not opted, users can later use the Mass transfer option in the individual modules to transfer the records owned by the users that is deleted from CRM.
To delete user
  1. Go to SetupUsers and ControlsUsers.
  2. Select the User and click Delete this User.
  3. In the Delete user popup, do the following:
    1. Select Delete without transfer, if you don't want to transfer records.
    2. Select Transfer now, if you want to transfer users.
      1. In Transfer to select a user from the drop-down list.
      2. Select Record ownershipAssignmentCriteria.
  4. Click Delete.
Deleting users when Reporting hierarchy is enabled
If the user you are deleting has other users reporting to them, then you can: 
  1. Transfer the subordinates to another user at an equal or superior role.
  2. Leave the subordinates non-reporting.
Read more about reporting hierarchy.

Instances where the deleted user's name will be retained or not transferred to new users

In some instances the deleted user's name is retained or his records are not transfer to the new user. Read the below instances to understand more: 
  1. System defined fields like last updated by, modified by in records and features like custom view, reports, dashboards, templates etc.
  2. Criteria that involve the created by and modified by fields.
  3. Record Owner fields mapped during import of records.
  4. In My Jobs: the records that are awaiting approval and blueprint transition. These records will not be transferred to the new user.
  5. Roles, Territory, and Groups of the deleted user will be retained.  
  6. Scoring rules that were configured with the deleted user's name as record owner. 
  7. In Reports, where sharing via email scheduling is configured. The deleted users will no longer receive the report.
  8. In-product notifications, email alerts, reminders, and sales signal notifications that were directed to the deleted user will not be transferred to the new user. 
  9. User lookup fields
  10. Records, custom views, reports and dashboards shared with the deleted users will not be transferred to the new user. The deleted users name will not be displayed in these instances.
  11. Zia Voice-Push Notification will not be sent to the new user
  12. The record owner field if used in saved filter will retain the deleted user's name. 
  13. Records owned by the deleted user in Sandbox
  14. Auto-follow rules created in Feeds that has the deleted user as record owner 
  15. Storage space used by deleted user will not be transferred
  16. Webhook params
  17. User fields configured through Telephony integration
  18. Notes created by the deleted users will not be transferred to another user. 




    Zoho DataPrep Personalized Demo

    If you'd like a personalized walk-through of our data preparation tool, please request a demo and we'll be happy to show you how to get the best out of Zoho DataPrep.

    Zoho CRM Training

      Create, share, and deliver

      beautiful slides from anywhere.

      Get Started Now





              Zoho CRM Training Programs

              Learn how to use the best tools for sales force automation and better customer engagement from Zoho's implementation specialists.

              Zoho CRM Training

                Zoho SalesIQ Resources



                    Zoho TeamInbox Resources




                              Zoho DataPrep Resources

                                Zoho DataPrep Demo

                                Get a personalized demo or POC

                                REGISTER NOW


                                  Design. Discuss. Deliver.

                                  Create visually engaging stories with Zoho Show.

                                  Get Started Now











                                                        • Related Articles

                                                        • Activating and Deactivating Users

                                                          Sometimes a users' position may change or they may move to different business units. In such cases, you might have to deactivate those users after transferring ownership of the records to other users. Note that deactivating a user is different from ...
                                                        • Customizing the User Layout

                                                          Zoho CRM allows you to customize the layout where you fill a user's details. Usually, while adding a user in Zoho CRM, you will be prompted to add basic information such as name, email address, role, profile, etc,. You can customize this default user ...
                                                        • Adding, Importing, Modifying, and Re-inviting Users

                                                          In Zoho CRM, a user is one who manages records, whether their own or those shared by other users, within the organization. In addition to accessing the CRM data, some of the users can perform administrative functions for the smooth running of the CRM ...
                                                        • How do I add a user who was previously deleted from my CRM account?

                                                          You can add users who you have previously deleted, back to the account. Even after a user is permanently deleted, the deleted email address can be used to create a new user. This added user will be considered as a new user to the CRM and will not be ...
                                                        • Can I delete a profile? What will happen to the users of that profile?

                                                          Yes, you can delete a profile if it is no longer required. However, you must first transfer the users to another profile. To transfer users and delete a profile: Navigate to Setup > Users and Control > Security Control > Profiles. Choose the specific ...

                                                        Resources

                                                        Videos

                                                        Watch comprehensive videos on features and other important topics that will help you master Zoho CRM.



                                                        eBooks

                                                        Download free eBooks and access a range of topics to get deeper insight on successfully using Zoho CRM.



                                                        Webinars

                                                        Sign up for our webinars and learn the Zoho CRM basics, from customization to sales force automation and more.



                                                        CRM Tips

                                                        Make the most of Zoho CRM with these useful tips.



                                                          Zoho Show Resources