Attachments Backup

Attachments Backup

Reclaim storage space by backing up attachments and then deleting the originals. All attachments in your organization count toward the same shared storage limit, including those added to notes.


 Available in Editions: All Editions


Info
Permission Required: Attachments Backup

Supported Modules

  1. Contacts
  2. Companies
  3. Services And Parts
  4. Service Appointments
  5. Assets
  6. Requests
  7. Estimates
  8. Work Orders
  9. Equipment
  10. Job Sheets

Generate a backup  

  1. Navigate to Setup > Data Administration > File Storage and click Download Backup.
  2. Enter the following details and click Proceed:
    1. Enter a Name for the backup.
      For easy identification, the name is prefilled based on the date range you select. You can change it if needed.
    2. Select a Date Range.
      You can choose from the past five months, or select a custom date range. A custom date range cannot exceed 31 days.
    3. Select the Module for which you want to initiate the backup.


Once initiated, the backup will be in the In Progress status. When the backup is ready, the status changes to Completed.

Download the backup  

After the backup has been generated, you can download the backup file in either of these ways:
  1. Hover over the entry and click the Download [] icon that appears at the end of the row.
  2. Click the More Options [ ] icon at the end of the row and click Download Backup.


Info
Points to remember
  1. You can create a maximum of 10 backups for a month (appointment count reset time).
  2. Only one backup schedule can be in progress per organization at a time.
  3. Download links remain valid for seven days from the date of creation.
  4. In the downloaded backup, the attachment files will be categorised by each record.
  5. If the size of the attachments selected for a backup exceeds 50 GB, the backup is split into multiple files.
  6. This is a sensitive administrative operation. Ensure that you download and verify your backup before deleting any attachments. Once deleted, attachments cannot be recovered and this action cannot be reverted.
  7. The backup includes only the attachments that the user generating the backup has permission to access. To ensure that all attachments are backed up before deletion, generate the backup using an administrator account or a user with access to all records (All Records permission for the modules).

Delete the original files  

Once you have downloaded and verified the backup, you can delete these attachments from your organisation.
  1. Hover over the row and click the More Options  ] icon that appears at the end of the row.
  2. Click Delete Original Files.
  3. In the confirmation message, type Delete Original files and click Delete.

Cleanup Status  

The Cleanup Status indicates the progress of the deletion of the attachments from your organisation.

Status
Description
Not Started
The backup has not been downloaded.
Ready for Cleanup
The backup has been downloaded.
Completed
The original files have been deleted.

Info
Points to remember
  1. Only one Delete Original Files schedule can be in progress per organization at a time.