FAQs Zoho Desk For Administrators User Access and Security

            Managing User Roles

            Set up the organization-wide hierarchy using Roles. Users at a higher hierarchy can always access all the records of at a lower hierarchy. For example, a Support Manager can access all the Agents' records whereas Agents can access only their records.

            Key Features
            • Users with a CEO role have access to the entire database within your organization.
            • Managers in the role hierarchy cannot view or edit their subordinates' records if they do not have the "Read" or "Edit" permissions for the type of record.
            • Users at a higher role can access other users’ data below their hierarchy. For example, a support manager can access his/her subordinates' data.
            • By default, users of the same role cannot access each other's data. For example, the VP Engineering cannot access the VP Customer Support data and vice versa though they are of the same hierarchy.
            • By default, users at the top of the hierarchy cannot view the data shared to their subordinate users through custom sharing rules. However, you can enable access rights to the managers by using the Superiors Allowed option while creating data sharing rule.
            • You can use Share Data with Peers option to allow sharing of data between users of the same role.
            • One must have read/write access to the primary record to add Comments, attachments or send an email to it.
            • A user with an Administrator profile will have access to all the data irrespective of the role assigned to the user.



            Creating Roles
            By default, the CEO and Manager roles are enabled for your Zoho Desk account. You can also create different types of roles for users based on their position in your organization hierarchy.
            To create new role:
            1. Click the Setup icon ( ) in the top bar.
            2. In the Setup Landing page, click Permissions under Organization.
            3. In the Roles List, click the Add icon ( ) in the upper right corner.
            4. In the New Role page, do the following:
              • Enter the Role Name
              • Select the immediate superior's role from the Reports To lookup. 
                If you do not select the superior's role, the new role will be created under the CEO role.
              • Select the Share Data with Peers check box if you would like to enable access rights to peers.
              • Specify the Description for the role.



            5. Click Save.

            Assigning Roles
            After creating roles, you can assign them to the agents in your organization.
            To assign roles to users:
            1. Click the Setup icon ( ) in the top bar.
            2. In the Setup Landing page, click Agents under Organization.
            3. In the Agents List page, click the <Agent Name>.
            4. On the Agent Details page, click in the left panel.
            5. In the Edit Agent Information page and under Roles and Permissions, select the specific Role from the lookup box.
            6. Click Save.

            Editing Roles
            You can modify the user roles as per changes in your organizational hierarchy. You can perform the following modifications:
            • Rename the role
            • Change the Superior Role
            • Change the setting for sharing data with Peers
            While changing the role names, all the data sharing rules will be updated automatically. 
            To edit a role:
            1. Click the Setup icon ( ) in the top bar.
            2. In the Setup Landing page, click Permissions under Organization.
            3. In the Roles List, click the Role name.
            4. In the Role Details page, click the Edit icon ( ) in the upper-right area.
            5. In the Edit Role page, update the new properties for the role.
            6. Click Save.

            Deleting Roles
            You cannot delete the existing roles without transferring the users to a new role. 
            To delete a role:
            1. Click the Setup icon ( ) in the top bar.
            2. In the Setup Landing page, click Permissions under Organization.
            3. In the Roles List, click the Role name.
            4. In the Role Details page, click the Delete icon ( ) in the upper-right area.
            5. In the Delete Role page, click on an existing Role to transfer the child-roles to the selected role.
            6. Click Transfer & Delete.
            Now the role and child-roles are transferred to the new role, and a different organization hierarchy is created.
            Helpful?  
            Help us to make this article better
            1 0