When you delete a collection, it cannot be restored later. All the files uploaded via the collection link will remain intact in the respective folder.
How to upload files via a collection link
When you share a collection link with users, they will have to follow the steps given below to upload the required files correctly.
- Click on the collection link you have received via email or other online medium.
A new upload screen will open. You can see who has requested that you submit files for the mentioned collection.
- Read the given details thoroughly to upload the required files correctly.
- Drag and drop files, or click CHOOSE FILES to select files from your computer.
In the upload screen, you can see the limitations, if any, including upload file size and maximum number of files to upload.
For external collections, users must enter the required user data, such as name, phone number, and email address, in order to upload files.
Frequently asked questions
(For collection owners)
Who can create collection links?
Based on the permissions in Collection Settings (Admin Console > Settings > Sharing) either team admins only or anyone in the team can create and manage collections.
Can I change the upload folder location after creating a collection?
For active collections, you cannot change the upload folder location. When you try to enable a disabled collection, you can choose a new location if the previous folder is no longer available.
Can I share a collection with another team member?
Who can access the collection folder?
If the collection folder location is inside your My Folders, other team members will not be able to access the collection folder. You need to share the collection folder with other users if you want them to be able to access it.
If the collection folder location is inside a team folder, team folder members will be able to access it.
Note: Team admins can view the collection activity logs under Team Activity. They can view the collection name, type, and folder location.
Is there any upper limit on creating collection links?
Can I change the expiration date after creating the link?
For active collections, you can change the expiration date at any time. When a collection link expires or is disabled, you can change the expiration once you enable the collection again.
How can I differentiate files uploaded by users in the collection destination folder?
User names will be prepended to each file uploaded via collection links. This will help you differentiate files uploaded by various users in the destination folder.
Can client users create collections?
No, client users
cannot create collections, but they can access internal collection links to upload files.
Are there any limitations in trial accounts?
Maximum number of collections allowed: 2 (including both types—internal and external)
Maximum unique users to whom you can send collection links via email: 5
What happens when a collection folder is deleted or I no longer have access to it?
The collection folder's corresponding collection link will no longer work. Also, when the collection owner is not active in a team, their collection links will not work.
Will a collection link work when the collection folder is renamed or moved to another location?
Yes, the collection link will work as long as you have access to the collection folder.
(For users who upload files via collection links)
Can I upload a new version to an already submitted file?
Yes, for an internal collection link, multiple files uploaded by a user with the same name will be uploaded as versions.
Can users upload files even after the first submission?
This depends on the limit set on the number of files to upload. If the maximum allowed file count is not reached, users can upload files in multiple submissions.
Can users view their files after upload?
No, users cannot view their uploaded files.
Can users remove uploaded files later?
Can users view submissions of other users?